My summer skincare routine

So summer’s coming and that means a lot of makeup-free days (to get that summer glow on my face). The only problem is that I want my face to be clear before showing the world – how many times has someone wished that, right?

I’ve recently stuck to my current skincare routine religously and have found that it’s really making a difference. *please last* so I thought I’d share if anyone needed some ideas…IMG_8352

In the morning, I wash my face with a washcloth soaked in warm water which opens up my all my pores and helps clean them out. I then use a charcoal face scrub with an exfoliating brush – btw I would highly recommend this exfoliating brush. It’s easy to use and really brightens up your face after using it, as well as giving it a
good old clean.

After I’ve finished washing my face, I dry it with a towel and rub in a mousturising cream. Now, I know loads of people are obsessed with
buying expensive mousturisers that claim to give you flawless, airbrushed skin (me being one of those), but sometimes simpler is better. After years of using various types of cream that just made my face too oily or sticky, I started using E45 cream – you know, that cream that your parents have because it’s cheap and “does the job”. Buimg_8353.jpgt seriously, SO GOOD – my face is immediately softer and the dry skin that I used to have around my nose/forehead has gone so yay!

Then, I apply all my makeup because I’m not yet ready to face the world with my naked face. Also, I know loads of people say that the price of makeup has no effect on your skin, but I feel like it does – like obviously you don’t have to spend £50 on every single product you use, but I find that really cheap makeup items (which my 13 year old self would go crazy for) really makes my face break out and just feels heavy when applied, so that’s a no from me.

IMG_8355

After a long day of social media scrolling or, as what I like to call it, ‘working’,  I IMG_8354take off all my makeup with coconut oil and a washcloth- the big 2016/17 trend – who needs makeup wipes now? I find that the coconut oil really works to take everything off and I let it sit on my face for a bit because it’s supposedly good for your skin (so far, so good) and then wipe it off with some warm water. You can keep coconut oil on your skin for overnight but the few times I did, it made my face break out.

* Also, this has absolutely nothing to do with skincare, but I find that putting coconut oil on your eyebrows for about ten minutes before plucking your eyebrows really makes the hairs soft and
easy to pluck, resulting in hardly any pain * 

IMG_8351Anyway, once I’ve washed my face, I apply Pure Active Micellar Cleansing Water and my beloved E45 cream.

And that’s it! If anyone has any tips or new routines or finds out that something I use isn’t actually good for my skin (wouldn’t be the first time), please let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

