Banana Powder Review

img_8057

So hopefully most of you would have heard about ‘Banana Powder’. If you haven’t, it sounds a bit weird – it’s a powder to mattify your face after putting your makeup on with a tint of colour. Ben Nye does one – you may have seen/heard about Kim Kardashian using it religiously. Anyway, I’ve always wanted to try it out but the Ben Nye one is roughly £30 and I wasn’t too keen on spending that much for some powder, so I let it go.

After months and months of wandering around Superdrug to find new products to spend all my money on, I came across the Makeup Revolution section which, out of nowhere, started selling small tubs of Banana Powder for £5. Success. Bought it instantly, without any hesitation and was eager to try it out as soon as I got home.

Anyway, after using it for a few weeks I’ve found some pros and cons. The powder really finishes your makeup. Instead of using a fix spray, I used the powder to keep my makeup on all day. Also, I found that it helped make the face look more ‘airbrushed’ which excited me.

However, while it did give my foundation and matte finish, after a couple of hours it started to make my makeup look a bit patchy and made my skin look and feel dry. I’m not sure whether it’s due to the fact that I have oily skin so it just wore off a bit. When I applied it, I left it on for a minute or two to allow it to settle while applying my mascara and then I would brush it off but, due to the tinted colour, waiting a few minutes to let it settle gave off a bit of a yellowish tint which I didn’t like.

Overall, I may use it now and again, but I wouldn’t buy it again because it just didn’t work with my skin type. It was probably due to my oily skin that it didn’t stay on for long but loads of people use it so it must have some other pros!

p.s. also had to use a very small eye brush to apply it as it’s a small tub so it became very messy.

 

Leave a Reply

